Monday, May 23, 2022
HomeFactsWhat Is Vegan Vitamin D3 Made From

What Is Vegan Vitamin D3 Made From

What Brands Of Vitamin D3 Are Vegan

Vegan Vitamin D3? – Q4 – Q& A 31 – Ep 438

Most of the brands of vitamin D3 are vegan, but please read product labels to confirm.

The following brands of vitamin D3 are vegan:

  • Vitabrid A
  • NOW Foods
  • Natural Factors Inc
  • If you dont see your favorite brand mentioned here, please contact the company for more information about their ingredients and whether they make products that are vegan-friendly. Choosing a vegan-friendly vitamin D3 brand has the advantage of being 100% cruelty-free.

    No, it is not vegan since animal-derived ingredients are used to produce it. It would be nearly impossible to find a vegetarian or vegan source for Vitamin D3 that will be absorbed into your body in exactly the same way as if you had consumed it from an animal source. Vitamin D3 cannot be produced by other synthetic forms of vitamin D, so to get your recommended daily intake, you have to take a supplement.

    Why Is Vegan Vitamin D3 Necessary For Vegans And Vegetarians

    Unfortunately, most food sources of Vitamin D are found in animal products, such as oily fish, egg yolks, yoghurt and milk. However, cereals, fat spreads, dairy-free milks and fruit juices that are fortified with Vitamin D may be suitable for those who follow a plant-based diet and can be considered vegan Vitamin D foods.

    Depending on their diet, many vegans and vegetarians need to take Vitamin D3 supplements as they avoid the foods that a lot of Vitamin D is found naturally. For this reason, many vegans take Vitamin D3 supplements to be on the safe side, particularly in the winter, when sunlight is limited.

    A great deal of commercial Vitamin D3 supplements are made using cholecalciferol derived from lanolin, which is an extract of sheeps wool. With this in mind, vegans need to check the ingredients in their Vitamin D3 supplement to ensure it does not contain any animal productsand are vegan.

    Which Type Of Vitamin D Is Best D2 Or D3

    Vitamin D has several forms, but the 2 dominant ones that youll see in supplements are vitamin D2 and D3.

    Vitamin D2 is found in mushrooms as far as food goes, and is the type often added to fortified foods. Unfortunately, studies have shown that vitamin D3 is far more effective than D2 at raising the blood levels of the usable form calcifediol.

    Your skin produces vitamin D3 when you spend time in the sun. In contrast, vitamin D2 is produced by plants and mushrooms exposed to sunlight. D3 is somewhere on the order of twice as effective according to some studies.

    So while D2 is better than nothing, theres no reason not to look for a vegan version of D3. All the top products that Ill go over later are vitamin D3.

    How is Vegan Vitamin D3 Made?

    Most vitamin D3 is not vegan Vegan versions are made from lichen , whereas non-vegan D3 is extracted from lanolin typically.

    Vitamin D comes in 2 forms D2 and D3. Vitamin D3 is by far the better form, so get a vegan supplement that contains D3, which will be made from lichen .

    Read Also: Where To Buy Smarty Pants Vitamins

    Should I Take A Vitamin D Supplement

    If you have trouble getting enough vitamin D through natural and fortified foods and sun exposure, which most of us do, then its a good idea to consider a vitamin D supplement.

    How do you know if youre getting enough vitamin D? Make an appointment with your health care provider and tell them youd like your vitamin D level checked.

    If your results are low, they will recommend a supplement. Be sure to ask for the dosage and duration of the supplement, and when you should come back to have your levels re-tested.

    But beware, most prescribed vitamin D supplements are not vegan. The vitamin D your doctor prescribes will likely be sourced from animals and may also be served up in gelatin capsules. Gelatin is not vegan , as its made from boiled animal skin and bones.

    See if your doctor can point you toward a vegan option. This may be the first time theyve ever had such a request, so be equipped with some knowledge to help educate them about vegan vitamin D supplement options.

    What Is Vitamin D And What Does It Do

    Country Life, Vegan D3, 5000 IU, 60 Vegan Softgels

    Technically a hormone, vitamin D serves many functions in the human body. Its most well-known role is aiding in calcium absorption and therefore supporting good bone health.

    When vitamin D is in short supply, bones become brittle and rickets can occur. Vitamin D also is active in cell growth, immune function and mediating inflammation in the body. Needless to say, its an important vitamin!

    You May Like: What’s The Best Vitamin For Energy

    Related Vegan Nutrition Articles:

    Vitamin D Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Updated November 9, 2018. Accessed March 18, 2019.

    This article was written by Taylor Wolfram RD for World of Vegan. Edited by Michelle Cehn. Cover photo designed in Canva.com. The information presented here is not to be construed as medical advice or used to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any condition or disease. Please note that this article contains affiliate links which help us keep regular content coming to life here at World of Vegan. Many thanks to Naturelo for supporting this article and our work at World of Vegan!

    How Much Vitamin D3 Does The Skin Produce When Sunbathing

    The amount of Vitamin D3 your skin produces if you have light-colored skin will depend on how much sun exposure you get. It is best to go by the old saying, Sunlight is the best vitamin supplement. This means getting about 20 minutes of sunlight during peak hours at least three times per week for people with fair complexions, and up to six times per week for those with dark complexions.

    If you spend too much time in the sun without protection, you risk damaging your skin and even potentially developing skin cancer. To avoid this, one can wear protective clothing or sunscreen to block harmful UVB rays if one must stay out. If these measures are not taken then its important to seek shade whenever you can.

    You May Like: What Are The Best Vitamins To Take For Weight Loss

    What Is Vitamin D3

    Vitamin D, otherwise known as the sunshine vitamin, is a fat-soluble vitamin made of multiple compounds, including vitamins D2, which is derived from plants, and D3, which is found in humans and other animals. This vitamin is produced naturally by our skin when it comes into contact with the suns rays and triggers vitamin D synthesis. This vitamin is often associated with a steady level of mood, good immune function, strong bones and and good physical energy levels.

    How Much Vitamin D3 Should I Take

    Vitamin D – My Recommendation For Vegan Vitamin D2 & Vitamin D3

    The optimal blood range of vitamin D3 is between 50-80 ng/mL and to achieve this most people need to take between 2,000-10,000 IU daily. Once optimal vitamin D blood levels are achieved, it’s a good idea to check them again once a year.

    To check your blood levels, you can order a 25-hydroxyvitamin D blood test from Life Extension.

    You May Like: What Vitamins Are Important During Pregnancy

    What Is In Regular Vitamin D3

    Most non-vegan vitamin D3 is made by copying the way we humans produce vitamin D3 in response to sunlight. To accomplish this, the most common source used is lanolin, a waxy substance found in sheep’s wool.

    To make vitamin D3, the first step is to isolate a compound called 7-dehydrocholesterol from inside the oil of the lanolin. 7-dehydrocholesterol is a molecule that is found in our skin and upon exposure to UV light, which we get from the sun, it is biochemically converted into cholecalciferol . Next, 7-dehydrocholesterol is exposed to UV light and it converts into cholecalciferol, which is no different than the conversion that occurs naturally in response to sunlight in humans.

    For those seeking out a vegan vitamin D3, it might be worth contemplating a non-vegan vitamin D3 that comes from lanolin. Why? Because sheering of sheep’s wool is just like a basic haircut that we humans get. For many sheep that do little to no shedding, sheering reduces rates of infection and risk of overheating, and increases their mobility.

    What Is Vitamin D

    Vitamin D is an essential fat-soluble vitamin that is also considered a hormone due to its activity in the body. While most essential nutrients are critical to get through the diet , vitamin D is an interesting nutrient because it can be produced when the skin is exposed to sunlight.

    With modern workplaces, where people are inside through the day, and for other reasons, most people need to rely on consuming enough vitamin D from food or drinks. Its just not realistic to completely rely on the sun for vitamin D, for a majority of people.

    Also Check: How To Get Vitamin D To Absorb Better

    Vitamin D And Sunlight

    Just as you can make vitamin D by exposing oily substances like lanolin to ultraviolet light, strong summer sunlight will also cause your skin to produce vitamin D. But most people cant get all the vitamin D they need through exposure to sunlight, especially in the winter. Whats more, the same sunlight that boosts your vitamin D levels also damages your skin. And if you apply sunscreen to protect your skin, that will decrease the formation of vitamin D.

    In winter months, the sun is typically so low in the sky that your skin wont produce any vitamin D. Add to this that youre probably wearing thick layers of clothing and your vitamin D production is probably essentially zero.

    Depending on your lifestyle, you may be able to get away with not taking vitamin D during the summer months. But apart from outliers who spend 12 months a year surfing in Hawaii, very few people get sufficient sunlight exposure year-round to meet their vitamin D needs. This is especially the case for people with darker skin, since this heavy pigmentation reduces the creation of vitamin D. As a result, people of color may be at greater risk of vitamin D deficiency. Older people also require more sun exposure to make vitamin D and are at risk for deficiency.

    What Are Vegan Foods That Are High In Vitamin D

    Vegan Vitamin D3, 5000 IU

    Unfortunately, a strict vegan diet will not supply any vitamin D3, only vitamin D2. Therefore, vegans must rely on sunlight and supplementation.

    Great vegan dietary sources of vitamin D2 are:

    • Mushrooms
    • Soy milk and almond milk
    • Tofu

    In addition, try The Vegan Cookbook for a variety of recipes including meals that are higher in vitamin D2.

    Also Check: Do Vitamin D Gummies Work

    What Do I Need To Know About Vitamin D

    If youve ever wondered if you need to take a vitamin D supplement, youre not alone. It is true that we actually dont know the optimal vitamin D levels for humans. And while there is conflicting evidence as to whether or not vitamin D supplements are helpful, the short answer is: if you have trouble meeting your vitamin D intake, you should consider taking a supplement.

    Im a vegan dietitian and even I run into vitamin D deficiency more often than Id like. I make a point to see my health care provider for my yearly physical and blood work in the early spring to see how my vitamin D levels are faring after the long, dreary Chicago winter.

    Truth be told, I slack at taking my vitamin D supplement as often as I should! Its a habit Im working on and its one you might need to work on, too.

    Mrm Vegan Vitamin D3 & K2 100% Vegan Vitamin D3 For Vegans & Vegetarians*

    Vitamin D3 & K2 are essential vitamins that help the body effectively regulate the absorption of calcium and phosphorous, as well as synthesize proteins. Vitamin K2 as Menaquinone-7 has a high bioavailability that complements and balances Vitamin D3. MRM Vitamin D3 & K2 utilizes a unique formula that helps to minimize non-bone calcification in joints and arteries, and also supports bone health, immune system function, healthy inflammatory response, and blood coagulation.**

    Our Vitamin D3 is extracted exclusively from lichens and contains microencapsulated cholecalciferol â the most bioavailable form of Vitamin D â to meet calcium and bone health needs of vegans and vegetarians. Vitamin K synthesizes proteins that bind to calcium ions and improves calcium absorption in bones, while decreasing the calcification of arteries and other soft tissues. The combination of these essential vitamins may help to strengthen bones and decrease bone health conditions, while also helping to balance mood, improve cardiovascular health, and promote healthy weight loss.**

    Don’t Miss: What Is A Good Vitamin D Level

    Which Foods Contain D3

    The most commonly listed foods with good levels of D3 include fish, fish oils, egg yolks, and beef liver. This doesnt offer any options for vegetarians or vegans, however. Fortified cereals, drinks, and dairy are suggested in this instance.

    Plant-based milk is often fortified, as standard. Orange juice is frequently topped up as well. Conventional animal dairy is usually fortified to increase the potential for calcium absorption.

    Best Vegan Vitamin D Supplements

    Pure & Essential Vegan Vitamin D3

    Speaking of supplements, you probably want to know: what are the best vegan vitamin D supplements available?

    If youre having trouble eating a full range of vitamin D rich foods as a vegan, incorporating a vitamin D supplement is the easiest way to ensure your recommended intake is on track.

    Lets take a look at three potential vegan sources of vitamin D through supplementation.

    Recommended Reading: Does Vitamin C Help Acne

    How Much Vitamin D Do I Need

    Although itâs unlikely that youâll overdo it on vitamin D from the sun or food sources, it is possible if youâre supplementing with very high doses. Never exceed 4,000 IU per day unless directed by your doctor, says Dr. Diamandis. More than this confers no added benefit, and it may be toxic.

    According to the National Institutes of Health, excessive vitamin D intake can lead to hypercalcemia , which, in turn, can cause nausea, vomiting, muscle weakness, pain, poor appetite, dehydration, excessive thirst, kidney stones, and, in extreme cases, kidney failure. So keep tabs on your intake and watch out for these symptoms.

    Also keep in mind, vitamin D is a fat soluble vitamin, meaning that itâs better absorbed by your body when you take it with a fat-containing meal.

    What Is Vitamin D3 Made From

    Vitamin D3 is made from ergosterol, which can be found in certain fungi and algae. Ergosterol is made when UV radiation hits the skin of these organisms, which converts it to vitamin D2. Both forms of Vitamin D are then converted into forms that are finally absorbed into the body, particularly into the liver.

    Vitamin D3 is vegan-friendly since it can also be created using yeast or certain types of mushrooms.

    Read Also: What Vitamins Should A Woman Over 55 Take

    This Unheard Of Vitamin D3 Source Will Make You Think Twice About Your Supplements

    Dietary supplements are big news. Two thirds of people in the UK take a vitamin or mineral supplement.

    Dietary supplements are big news. Two thirds of people in the UK take a vitamin or mineral supplement. Every year in the US alone, $4billion is spent on vitamin and mineral supplements. The most popular are multivitamins and Vitamin D supplements.

    But what is the really story – do we need supplements or can a healthy, balanced diet give us all the vitamins and minerals we need? Why are people taking Vitamin D supplements and is there really any need? We take a look at the history of diet supplements, the need for Vitamin D and the Vitamin D3 source you need to know about if you are following a plant-based diet.

    Is Vitamin D3 Vegan And Vegetarian Friendly

    Healthy Origins Vegetarian Vitamin D3 5000 IU Vegetarian ...

    by Edan MasorSep 30, 2021

    Vitamin D is critical to our health since it aids in the maintenance of bones, teeth, muscles, and the immune system. Vitamin D3 is the most effective type of vitamin D because it is obtained from sheeps wool, although a Vegan Vitamin D3 product made from a low-CO2 plant source is now available from Healthspan.

    More than 500,000 people in the United Kingdom label themselves as vegans, and the practice is becoming more popular by the day, for a variety of reasons, including environmental, health-related, or animal welfare concerns.

    Vegetarians and Vegans avoid eating or using any animal-based products, such as meat, fish, dairy, and eggs. Those on a vegan diet must compensate for the nutrients that these goods provide from different sources.

    Vitamin D insufficiency is widespread: according to the National Diet and Nutrition Survey, one in five persons 19 to 64 years old, one in six people 65 and over, and a quarter of children 11 to 18 had low vitamin D levels throughout the year. As a result, all adults in the United Kingdom are encouraged to take a daily supplement containing 10 micrograms of vitamin D throughout the year by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence.

    Contents

    Vitamin D3 is plant-based.

    Vitamin D is vegan.

    Read Also: What Is The Best Vitamin Supplement For Arthritis

    Do Vegans Need Vitamin D3

    To achieve optimal levels of vitamin D3, it is very difficult for vegans to rely on sunlight and diet without supplementation. That’s because a strict vegan diet only supplies vitamin D2, which is also called ergocalciferol. Ergocalciferol does not readily convert into the biologically active form of vitamin D as efficiently as vitamin D3 , which comes from animal products as well as sunlight.

    Fortunately, there are sources of vegan vitamin D3 on the market, which are nutritionally superior to vitamin D2.

    RELATED ARTICLES

    Most Popular